Curry & Flat Bread for a Rainy Day

13-4-1_flatbread_cabbage

Today I’d like to make Curry Cabbage & Onion-Stuffed Flat Bread.

Inspiration? I love Indian food (yes, it’s technically a Caribbean recipe blog that I’m getting the curry recipe from) and I’ve used up almost all the veggies from my CSA box, but I have cabbage and also a lot of leek. I’m going to substitute leek for onion and see how it goes.

My pared-down versions, based on the recipes linked above:

Curry Cabbage

Ingredients: Cabbage (about 1/3 of a medium head, cut into strips), 1 tomato, grapeseed oil, leeks (chopped), curry powder

Extra seasoning: Salt, pepper, cayenne powder

Instructions: Heat (medium-high) half of the leeks first to carmelize, then add the curry and cook that for 2-3 minutes in order to bring out the flavor. Then add a little water to create paste and cook until the water has evaporated and you have a gritty consistency. Then add everything else, including reserved leeks, and cook (low heat) together.

Onion-Stuffed Flat Bread 

Ingredients: Whole wheat flour (2 cups), Grapeseed oil (3 Tsp), Water (about 1 1/4 cups), salt, leeks + spices for the stuffing

Instructions: Mix the flour and oil together, then mix in a little water at a time until the mixture stays together. Let it sit for 10 min, then form into 8 balls. Squish* them into circles, put the filling (leeks + salt, pepper, oil) inside and pinch together. It helps to rest them with the pinched side down. Then squish into circles again and pan fry with a little oil. Keep extra flour on hand to keep things from sticking.

Key to making the Flat Bread is to work the dough. I don’t have a processor, so I just stirred the water into the flour until the mixture stuck together, let it sit for 10 min, and then formed into balls etc. I tested as I was cooking and wasn’t a fan of the consistency, which was a bit heavy, so I tried mixing the last one by hand a little more before cooking it … and found that it was springier, chewy in a good way.

Reminds me of my favorite Chinese ‘pancake with onion’ type bread, which probably just uses a lot more oil and a different rolling technique to achieve lots of flaky layers.

*I don’t have much kitchen equipment on hand, a rolling pin would probably work better here.

Verdict: Satisfying for a cold day, but the flat bread is definitely heavier than I prefer mostly. Generally like food that energizes me and keeps me light. The Cabbage Curry, can’t tell yet. I’ll have to see if it holds up over several days, as I like to cook in batches and reheat the same thing to save time. I might make it soupier next time by adding a thickening agent like cornstarch or rice powder instead of doing a dry dish, or add more ingredients: maybe potato, carrot, cauliflower or coconut milk.

Leave a Reply

